Integrated Mathematics

(grades 7 through 12)

Apply Online | Request More Information | Major Brochure | Courses 

 

Screen blanks. Music halts. System hums, revs.

Fingers stretch, flex, return to controls.

Mind re-aligns.

The game is not over.

The next level begins.

At Defiance College, integrated mathematics majors take their basic high school understanding of mathematics to the next level as they prepare to teach grades 7-12.

As students refine their understanding of the discipline, they make connections between everyday situations and mathematical problem solving, and compare techniques and ideas from multiple mathematical branches.

Just as every smart gamer has mentors, integrated mathematics majors at Defiance College have theirs, working with seasoned mathematicians who love the game and have mastered the next level, and with skilled educators who prepare them for the rigors of teaching. Professors work closely both in and out of the classroom to challenge and guide their majors, making student-oriented study central to the program.

Ready for the next level?

Mind re-aligned?

Fingers on the controls?

Go!

The Teacher Education Program Handbook

 


 

The Faculty

Clarissa Barnes, Ph.D., Associalte Professor of Special Education
Director of Hench Autism Studies Program 
419-783-2355 | cbarnes@defiance.edu

Jo Ann Burkhardt, Ph.D., Professor of Education
419-783-2315 | jburkhardt@defiance.edu | Profile

Fred Coulter, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Education
419-783-2416 | fcoulter@defiance.edu | Profile

Joshua C. Francis, M.A., Assistant Professor of Education, Director of Education
419-783-2571 | jfrancis@defiance.edu | Profile

Sandra Golden, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Education/Associate Provost of Graduate Studies and Professional Development/Master of Arts in Education Program Director.
419-783-2412 | sgolden@defiance.edu | Profile

David Stuckey, M.A., Assistant Professor of Mathematics
419-783-2464 | dstuckey@defiance.edu 

 

©