Life Science

(grade 7 through grade 12)

Apply Online | Request More Information Major Brochure | Courses


Ever looked at a dragonfly? Looked close enough to study the detail in the delicate wings, the shades and patterns of color?

Ever listened to coyotes? Listened in the dark of night as they howled across great distances, declaring the lengths of their lands?

Ever smelled soil? Smelled deep enough to love its richness and to wonder at the microorganisms at work within?

Ever studied albinism? Studied everything to be found on who has it and why, how it gets passed down, how the genetics of albinism work?

Ever loved science enough to want to teach it?

Defiance College's life science major in education provides a broad science foundation from zoology and ecology to chemistry and physics, while education courses emphasize both theoretical foundations and practical applications. The life science major in education provides students with the opportunity to sample the best of what the science and education departments have to offer.

Defiance College's education major in life science leads to licensure in grades 7-12, qualifying students to teach life science.

Ever needed a place to become a science teacher?

The Teacher Education Program Handbook

 


 

The Faculty

 

Clarissa Barnes, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Special Education,
Director of Hench Autism Program
419-783-2355 | cbarnes@defiance.edu

Jo Ann Burkhardt, Ph.D., Professor of Education
419-783-2315 | jburkhardt@defiance.edu | Profile

Fred Coulter, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Education
419-783-2416 | fcoulter@defiance.edu | Profile

Joshua C. Francis, M.A., Assistant Professor of Education, Director of Education
419-783-2571 | jfrancis@defiance.edu | Profile

Sandra Golden, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Education/Associate Provost of Graduate Studies and Professional Development/Master of Arts in Education Program Director.
419-783-2412 | sgolden@defiance.edu | Profile

Nathan Griggs, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biology
419-783-2592 | ngriggs@defiance.edu

Douglas D. Kane, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biology
419-783-2593 | dkane@defiance.edu

 Alyson Laframboise, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Biology
419-783-2494 | alaframboise@defiance.edu

 

©