Middle Childhood

(grades 4 through 9)

Apply Online | Request More Information Major Brochure | Courses


Everybody knows about middle childhood students.

They know a lot.

They make sure others know they know a lot.

They have so much still to learn.

At Defiance College, middle childhood education majors get energized about helping fourth through ninth grade students deepen their subject knowledge and broaden their understanding of the world.

Out of four content areas (Reading/Language Arts, Mathematics, Science, and Social Studies), middle childhood education majors choose two for specialization, then learn to make these subjects come alive, opening up worlds upon worlds of possibilities for their students.

Get ready for students who know a lot. Get ready to teach them more.

 



A Rich Tradition

Defiance College has a rich teacher education heritage. For more than 100 years, the College has prepared and graduated teachers who not only teach, but become principals and superintendents as well. The success of Defiance College education graduates rests in part on the rapport established with area schools and the caring, personal attention given to each student by the experienced faculty. In addition to exceeding state minimum requirements, the program has many other strengths.

The Teach Education Program Handbook

 



The Faculty

Clarissa Barnes, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Special Education,
Director of Hench Autism Studies Program
419-783-2355 | cbarnes@defiance.edu

Jo Ann Burkhardt, Ph.D.,  Professor of Education
419-783-2315 | jburkhardt@defiance.edu | Profile

Fred Coulter, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Education
419-783-2416 | fcoulter@defiance.edu | Profile

Rachel Eicher, Assistant Professor of Practice of Early Childhood Education
419-783-2373 | reicher@defiance.edu

Joshua C. Francis, M.A., Assistant Professor of Education, Director of Education
419-783-2571 | jfrancis@defiance.edu | Profile

Sandra Golden, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Education/Associate Provost of Graduate Studies and Professional Development/Master of Arts in Education Program Director.
419-783-2412 | sgolden@defiance.edu | Profile

 

©