Fall 2017 - Spring 2018 Important Dates

Office of Residence Life

 

June

Thursday, June 15: Fall 2017 Meal plan change deadline. Meal plan change forms are available outside the Office of Residence Life or download the form.

Students can change their meal plans for the upcoming Fall 2017 semester. Interested students must fill out a Meal Change Request Form and turn it into the Director of Residence Life no later than June 15. Requests made after this deadline will incur a $50.00 change fee.

 

July

Saturday, July 1: Deadline for new students to request a roommate and submit the Housing Application in order to view their housing assignment on myDC portal on July 13th.

Thursday, July 13: First round of Housing Assignments available on myDC.

  • Students who have signed up for Orientation and filled out the Housing Application will be able to view their room assignment and roommate information for the Fall.

 

August

Tuesday, August 1: Deadline for new students to submit the Housing Application in order to view housing assignment on myDC portal on August 8th.

Tuesday, August 8: Second round of Housing Assignments available on myDC.

  • Students who have signed up for Orientation and filled out the Housing Application will be able to view their room assignment and roommate information for the Fall.

    After August 8th housing assignments will be posted on a weekly basis to myDC or as students sign up for Orientation.

Move-In: Anyone who checks in early or not at their scheduled time will be charged an early check-in fee. If you wish to move in early, please contact the Office of Residence Life.

  • Friday, August 4: RAs check in with hall director (9:00am-11:30am)

  • Tuesday, August 8: Football & Football Athletic Trainers check in at Whitney Hall (9:00am-2:00pm)

  • Monday, August 14: Band check in at Whitney Hall (12:00pm-2:00pm)

  • Tuesday, August 15: Women's Tennis and Women's Golf (9:00am-11:00am)

  • Wednesday, August 16: Volleyball, Soccer, and Cross Country Students check in at Whitney Hall (9:00am-Noon)

  • Friday, August 18: Freshmen move in McReynolds Hall (9:00am-3:00pm)

  • Sunday, August 20: Upperclassmen move in Whitney Hall (10:00am-2:00pm)

Tuesday, August 29: Residence Hall Council meetings in the lobby of Whitney and McReynolds.

  • First meeting of the year to determine quiet hours for the buildings

 

September

September 4 through 17: Room Changes and Consolidation 

  • All students without roommates during the roommate consolidation period will be asked to room with other students that do not have roommates.

  • This is the designated time period for students to openly switch roommates and rooms without a formal room change / roommate mediation process.

  • A Room Change Form will be available through your Hall Director. Anyone who moves rooms without the Hall Director’s explicit consent will be asked to move back or fined.

 

October

There are no important dates in October at this time.

 

November and December

Wednesday, November 15: Spring 2018 Meal plan change deadline. Meal plan change forms are available outside the Office of Residence Life or download the form.

  • Students can change their meal plans for the upcoming Spring 2018 semester. Interested students must fill out a Meal Plan Change Request Form and turn it into the Director of Residence Life no later than November 15. Requests made after this deadline will incur a $50.00 change fee.

Hall Closing Dates: Winter Break will be the only time during Fall 2017 the residence halls will close.

  • Winter Break: Residence halls will close for Winter Break at Noon on Saturday, December 9, 2017 and reopen Sunday, January 7, 2018 at Noon.

  • Residence students are asked to leave for break 24 hours after their last final.

  • Students that wish to remain in the halls during the break must fill out an Occupancy Agreement with the Office of Residence Life. These forms are available 2 weeks prior to the break and due 2 days before the break begins. 

 

January 

Sunday, January 7: Residence Halls re-open at noon.

RA Information Sessions (***Please plan to attend one session if interested in being an RA)

  • Tuesday, January 16 @ 1pm in Hubbard Conference room
  • Wednesday, January 17 @ 9pm in McReynolds Lobby
  • Thursday, January 18 @ 9pm in Whitney Lobby
  • Friday, January 19 @ 3:30pm in Hubbard Conference room

Friday, January 19: New/Rehire RA Applications Available

January 22 through 29: Room Consolidation

  • All students without roommates during the roommate consolidation period will be asked to room with other students that do not have roommates.

  • This is the designated time period for students to openly switch roommates and rooms without a formal room change / roommate mediation process.

  • Room Change Form will be available through your Hall Director. Anyone who moves rooms without the Hall Director’s explicit consent will be asked to move back or fined.

Wednesday, January 24: New/Rehire Applications Due to Office of Residence Life by 3:00 pm

Sunday, January 28: RA Carousel (12:00 pm - 5:00 pm) in Serrick Campus Center

Monday, January 29 and Tuesday, January 30: RA Rehire Interviews

 

February

Wednesday, January 31 - Friday, February 2: RA Professional Interviews 

Wednesday, February 7: RA Selection Notification

Friday, February 9: RA Acceptance Deadline

Monday, February 12: Apartment and 20 College Place Applications Available in the Office of Residence Life

Monday, February 19: Apartment and 20 College Place Applications Due to the Office of Residence Life 

Wednesday, February 21: 20 College Place License Agreements Due to Office of Residence Life

Friday, February 23: Apartment License Agreements due to Office of Residence Life

 

March

Hall Closing Dates: Spring Break will be the only time during Spring 2018 that the Residence Halls will close:

  • Saturday, March 3: Residence Halls close at noon
  • Sunday, March 11: Residence Halls open at noon

Sunday, March 18: Housing Lottery (7 pm) - Seniors are excused from this event

 

April 

Wednesday, April 18: Summer Housing Applications due to the Office of Residence Life by noon

 

May

Friday, May 4: Residence Halls close for Summer Break at noon

Saturday, May 5: Graduates move out of Residence Halls by 6:00 pm